YOUR BRIDGE QUERIES ANSWERED – PROBLEM 185

Your Bridge Queries Answered – Problem 185

Hi Ron,
 
My partner opened 1 diam.  The opposition intervened 2 clubs.  I held :

  • spade A J X X X X
  • heart X X X
  • diamond X
  • club Q J X (8 pts)

We play neg. doubles, and I passed.  My partner did a reopening double, and I bid 2 spades and she passed.  Of course we made 5 spades !! as she had 4 spades and about 14 or 15 pts.
 
What should I have bid in this case? Neg double, and convert to 2 spades if she rebids diamonds ? Or if she bids spades (she did have 4 )  go to game? Or at least to 3 spades?
 
Of course she thought that I may not have had any points as I had passed 2 clubs.

How would you handle this query?

Solution

Print this page

HAPPY MEMBERS

I have only been doing the Daily Problem. It is excellent practice! I’ll send you more feedback as I get to explore more on the web site.

K. Hollander
MORE HAPPY MEMBERS